Who needs language skills?

24 04 2009

Week three highlights:

The weeks are flying by. Soon enough we’ll be on Golden Week holidays and that’s almost the first school term gone…

Monday: I got paid on Monday- pay day is always a good day! Especially when you have a Disney bank account?!?

Tuesday: So, with yen in hand we went out to buy some more furniture. We went out riding in the rain to 2nd Street after work. We have a TV, TV cabinet and washing machine waiting to be delivered after Golden Week. The TV should help Benno acquire more language since he doesn’t leave the house much.That might change now that we have signed up on the Tokyo Vegan meetups group that have regular dinners out.

Wednesday: Benno was busy at home when I came home early from school at 4pm. So, I rode my bike to Nitori (a furniture store) on my own to buy some furniture for Benno. I went in, and with a combination of no, yes, here, thank you, and, where? spoken in Japanese (i.e. not very much at all) I was able to select, order, arrange delivery and pay for a desk and chair for Benno. Awesome!

Friday: The desk and chair were delivered. Benno’s office is complete!

Actions

Information

2 responses

25 04 2009
Nichola

Wow, that’s pretty amazing. Congratulations on your shopping trip!

27 04 2009
bennoandlara

Well, I think we’ve now managed to shop for all of our furniture. It was totally packed with people at Minami-Funabashi IKEA on Sunday when we got our sofa and dining table. Heaps of Japanese people heading out for a shopping trip and a 180 yen hotdog with bottomless soda.

More importantly than the desk shopping trip, I now know the phrase for ‘please let me off the bus here’ which has been very useful when catching the school bus and accidentally getting on the ‘eki express’ (direct to the station) bus. Fortunately the drivers are very kind and let me off when I say ‘sumimasen, koko de oroshite kudasai’!

Leave a Reply

